New Project with “Bungle Jungle” Charms by Moda

I have more charms left from my Bungle Jungle charm pack (by Moda), and I’ve been thinking about incorporating white into a scrappy-look baby quilt.  I think it would be bright and cheerful.  So I fired up my EQ7 (Electric Quilt Vsn 7) to see what I could come up with.  I love my EQ7 software–it makes it so easy to draft patterns and try different variations, and I can even upload specific fabric (like the Bungle Jungle) into the program to see what it might look like in the project.  And it tells me how much fabric I need.

Here are some of the potential quilt ideas printed out and sitting on my design wall.  Where do I begin?  So many quilts, so little time!!! 🙂

3PatchRail1

I don’t have enough charms left for the first one, not enough of the same color charms for the other two, and I’ve already done the two smaller ones, so I think the last one–a three-log rail with sashing will do nicely.  I might need to buy some more white fabric.

3PatchRail3

Cut all the “logs” out of my charm pack pieces and the white Moda fabric and pieced them together  Aren’t they cute?  I just love the Bungle Jungle line.

3PatchRail4

Chain piecing the extra log onto each end….  I don’t’ know about you, but I have to put them back row-by-row on my design wall or I can so easily get them mixed up!!

3PatchRail5

I’ve added the sashing between the rows, but now I’m waiting for more white fabric to finish the final outside border, and then I can do the quilting and binding to finish.  I’m not sure if I’ll do straight stitching to give it a more modern look, or put it on my mid-arm to do a circular pattern.

Decisions, decisions!

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

