That elusive quarter-inch seam…tip

As a quilter, I’m forever seeking that perfect scant 1/4″ seam.  You’d think by this time I’d have it perfected…but it’s still elusive and difficult to achieve!

However, I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeve to help me.  I hope they’ll help you too.  This one is cheap…all you need is some painter’s tape (or a post-it note) & your ruler.

quarterinch1

Place the ruler under your pressure foot & line up the 1/4″ mark just a hair to the left of the hole your needle goes through (in the base of the machine throatplace)…

quarterinch2

Or, using the hand wheel, you can very gently lower the needle to the ruler to test the placement.

Then stack several layers of painter’s tape (about 2″ long each) on top of each other & tape them onto the throat plate next to the ruler’s edge (make sure you don’t cover the feed dogs).

quarterinch2a

As you’re piecing, you’ll line up the edge of the fabric with the edge of the painter’s tape.

To test it, cut three strips of fabric (any length)  1-1/2″ wide, and sew them together (using the edge of each seam with the tape).  After ironing the seams, the center strip should measure 1 inch.

quarterinch3

If it doesn’t, you’ll need to re-adjust the tape and try again…

quarterinch4

Once it’s adjusted correctly, you can go to town…and piece away!

Next quilt idea…

So, when I was at the fabric store a few days ago (see earlier blog), I simply fell in love with some of their fat quarters and couldn’t resist buying some for the next quilt I’m thinking of…

Fabric1

Fabric2

Very different from what I’m usually attracted to…we’ll see…

…to be continued!  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “That elusive quarter-inch seam…tip

  1. Oh, I love the colors you picked out. The yellow and green is really quite smashing with the black(?) and grey. A few weeks ago I found a neat little notion that does the same thing as the painters tape though I can’t for the life of me remember its name. Good to know painters tape works just the same!

  2. Great idea on the seam. I’m always trying to perfect that, too. Another idea besides tape is a piece of thick moleskin (found with foot aids in the drug store). You can stick it on the machine when you need to get it out of the way for free motion quilting. Love the fabric, what is it?

  3. Love your moleskin idea! The fabrics are all different…just “grabbed” them from their fat quarter bins…I checked what little salveges there were & found “Analee” Andover Fabrics, “LillyBelle” Art Gallery Fabrics, “Urbancity”(company name cut off), “Tempo” Benartex, &”Dreamin'” Westminster Fibers. The rest didn’t have printed salveges. 😉 thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

