Peek-a-Boo Pals Baby Quilt

AnimalBW9

I’ve been wanting to use this pattern for the longest time.  The last time I made it was exactly 20 years ago–I made just the dog block to look like Dalmatians to give to my cousin for her new baby.  I don’t often enter quilts in competition, but I was pleasantly surprised to win third place at a local quilt show.  The pattern is from a 1992 book by Cindy Taylor Oates, “Peek-A-Boo Pals”. 

So at the International Quilt Show in Chicago, I was on the hunt for polka dot fabrics and pastels to go with the stripes and black & white theme.

AnimalBW1 AnimalBW2

Each block starts with a different pastel background with the “body” of the animal, then the stripe border is added to each one.

Next comes the polka-dot corner triangles.

AnimalBW3

Up on the design wall, I add each applique piece as it’s cut–then take each block to the ironing board.

AnimalBW4 AnimalBW5 AnimalBW6

Next I used my machine to button-hole stitch around the edge of each piece with contrasting thread (white on black fabric; black on white fabric)…

AnimalBW7

The blocks are sewn together, and a large polka-dot border was added…

AnimalBW8AnimalBW9

After quilting around each design and adding a striped binding, it’s ready for the shop.  🙂

Although this pattern is more time consuming than usual, this baby wallhanging/quilt was so much fun to make, I may do it again soon.

Next time I might do it in a different color wave–maybe brown & white dogs–

maybe Beagles??

Snicks

What do you think girl??

On to the next quilt….  so many quilts, so little time!!

One thought on “Peek-a-Boo Pals Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

