The “Go Pack” Baby Quilt

GoPack1

During the Wisconsin Shop Hop, I found these great Wisconsin fabrics at my favorite quilt stores.  The green and yellow just screamed Green Bay Packers–so I had to find a few other fabrics to go with them into a “Go Pack” Baby Quilt.

Have you discovered the spectacular YouTube Tutorials from the Missouri Star Quilt Company?  (If not, be sure to click the link on their name to view them).  I just love Jenny–she’s inspiring and fun.  Anyway–Even though I used her YouTube Tutorial on the Disappearing Nine Patch I had to “sketch” it out myself on the computer using EQ7 (Electronic Quilt 7 software) first to be sure of the size and amount of material:

EQ7 Go Pack Quilt

Then I cut out the squares…

GoPack1a

…sewed them into 9-patches (first rows, and then sewing those rows together).

GoPack2

Don’t you just love the football-theme fabrics?  As I mentioned, several of them are from the Wisconsin Shop Hop (designed by Kim Schaefer for Andover Fabrics).  One has the names of Wisconsin cities printed on it).  There’s also a referee-type stripe, some random green & yellow circles/stripes, and even green turf with yard lines.  I added some fabrics with footballs and helmets (Robert Hoffman).  Fun.

The next step was to cut each of the 9-patch blocks right down the center–both ways…

DSC04376

And then put them up on my design wall and scramble them–making sure no two seams matched…

GoPack3

My backing wasn’t wide enough–so I had to add a few strips of fabric, which just screamed–add the words “Go Pack” in green on the yellow strip!  So I fired up my Cricuit to cut out some paper templates, traced and cut them out of green fabric, and added them to the backing with a zig zag stitch.  Now the back is big enough…

GoPack4

I think deciding what design to quilt is the hardest part.  Do you agree?  I always get stuck.

I decided to follow the fabric designs–going around the little helmets, footballs, and do an overall loop-DE-loop in-between.

Closeup1

It was fun to make, and is now for sale in my Etsy Shop.

GoPack5

Next time I give this a try, I might do it in pastels — I loved the scalloped border that Jenny used in her tutorial, so sweet.  (hmm…I might need to get that special scallop ruler… Can we ever have enough plastic rulers?)

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “The “Go Pack” Baby Quilt

    • Hi! Isn’t it darling? It was designed by Kim Schaefer for Andover Fabrics during the Wisconsin shop hop a couple years ago. As you know, fabric gets harder to find a year or two after its released, but if you can’t find it online, try calling a few Wisconsin quilt stores (like Mill House -Waunakee–or ones close to you). If they have it in stock, they might even ship it to you. 😄. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

