Little Teeny Tiny Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Twister Template

I enjoyed our local Quilt Expo so much this year.  I loved the lectures, hands-on classes, quilt shows, (loved having Nancy Zieman sign her book for me) but my favorite part of every Quilt Expo has got to be shopping at the vendors!!  How about you?

I found a lot of great gadgets, templates/rulers…and “stuff” that I just had to have.

One template that intrigued me (since I still love making the “Lil’ Twister” quilts) was a new twister block template I hadn’t seen before.  The same vendor selling the new template also had a luscious black, red, & lime green jelly roll and a Ladybug pattern to go with it.

I don’t know what I was thinking–but I just couldn’t resist!

The template is made by Primitive Gatherings and they call it the “Itty Bitty Pimitive Pinwheel”, although I call it the Little Teensy Tiny Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny pinwheel template (with a nod to Gilda Radner & Miss Emily Litella)!!  Because it is!  It measures only 1-1/2 inches square!

Yikes! What WAS I thinking??

But it was too cute, the fabric and pattern were calling to me, and I had to have it…so  I bought it and brought it home. (Don’t tell me you’ve never done that.)

The first step was to cut and lay out 2-1/2″ squares, and sewing them together. The “Ladybug Twist” pattern, by “Handcrafts by Jennifer” can be found here.

IMG_9869

Then, lining up the lines on the template along the seam lines of the quilt, I cut out Little Teensy Tiny Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny 1-1/2″ squares!

IMG_9871

As I cut them out, I laid them carefully side by side–in order–by rows–so I wouldn’t mix them up.

IMG_9870

Then I “got smart”, and realized I could sew each row together before moving on to cut the next row–  So much easier, and less chance of messing up!  So after each row of little teeny tiny itsy bitsy teeny weeny squares was cut out, I used a pin to put each the squares temporarily together, and took the long “string” of little  teeny tiny itsy bitsy teeny weeny squares over to the sewing machine to sew all the seams.  After ironing, I placed them carefully back in position on the table and moved on to cutting the next row.

IMG_9869

Here it is in progress … you can see the ladybug forming (and I had to get out my matching lady but pincushion).

IMG_9876IMG_9877IMG_9878

It was very time-consuming, but I still can’t get over how fun it is to see the magic happen when you cut, twist, and re-sew the blocks together.

IMG_9892

All that was left to do was add a border…and quilt as desired/bind.

IMG_9891

It would be a very cute little wall hanging in a child’s room…or maybe a summer table topper.

But I’m not sure if I’m done yet.  I might add a few more borders and make it into a quilt…?

Kaufman Fabrics has some awfully cute ladybug fabric out there…

Ann Kelle from Cool Cords

Pink Light Design from Picnic Party (Leaf)

Pink Light Design from Picnic Party (Strawberry)

Ann Kelle from Urban Zoology

Aren’t they darling?  I think I’ll hang it on my design wall for a few days and think about it.

Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

