Honeysweet Quilt Done–An EQ7 Experiment

So I created an EQ7 (Electric Quilt) challenge for myself —

...try designing a new lap quilt using EQ7 from start to finish, downloading the exact fabrics (before even seeing or buying them), and then make the quilt almost exactly as shown…

As you know, I fell in love with Moda’s “Honeysweet” fabric, so I downloaded the line from their website HERE, so I could import it to my “fabric library”.  EQ7 software makes it so easy to do this.

Then I could “paint” the quilt with the fabrics to see how they might look.

Here’s my first try:

DQ7 first try

Another version:

EQ7 try 2

And my final version that I decided to work with:

HoneySweetQuilt

I liked playing around with the dresden plate, which reminded me of flowers (the hope of spring to come!)….

HoneySw Dresden

EQ7 doesn’t realize some short-cuts–I had to re-draft the pattern a bit so I could create the points of the “petals” by making a seam, turning it, & pressing.

AlternateBlockHoneySweet

It also doesn’t know that I take a short-cut doing corners on this alternate block by using a smaller square & sewing the seam corner to corner.  So I had to make some changes in my pattern & accommodate for extra rose & green fabric.

Closeup appl

But it was a lot of fun! 🙂

Honeysweet3

And here’s how it turned out…

Honeysweet5

I decided not to quilt inside the Dresden plate–but to “echo” the secondary square instead…

Honeysweet2

And add a hand dyed floss “tie” to the center of each “flower”.

Honeysweet1

All in all, it was a fun experience…and I may try doing it again.

HoneySweetQuilt   Blog Finished

On the to next…

Happy Quilting!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

Leave a Reply

