Dying Fabric for the Lake: Part 2

After the last few dying results not being exactly what I wanted, I thought I’d it try using a different preparation technique with each of two fabrics.

I neatly fan-folded a fat quarter of PFD cotton fabric, pressing each crease with my hot iron and then loosely hand tacked it all together with cotton thread and a loose running stitch).

Blogsew

I gathered the other fat quarter by hand sewing running stitches and pulling them…

Bloggather

Using my Procion Dye mixed in hot water, and adding it to a soda ash/water solution, I put each fabric into a large plastic container and poured the dye mixture over them, letting them set for at least four hours.

Here were the results:

Results: fan folding, ironing creases, & loose running stitch

Results: fan folding, ironing creases, stitching

Results: hand-stitching & gathering at ends

Results: hand-stitching & gathering at ends

 

They’re interesting, but way too dark.  And the gathering is very hard to get out.  So I tried once again, using the folding technique–this time using rubber bands instead of tacking stitch–with a lighter dye bath (not so heavy on the blue dye powder).

Blogdye1

Second try–in the lighter dye bath

 

I was much happier with this result:

Blogdyeresultslighter

Results: lighter dye bath & folding

 

And I think it will work for my Lake Washington water fabric…

Blogdyewillwork

So, with that done…

I’m starting to put the landscape quilt together…

Blogdyewillwork2

I’ll post again, as the quilt evolves…

Happy Quilting!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

Leave a Reply

