The 30’s Granny Square Baby Quilt: Pt 1

I saw this Granny Square pattern on the Moda Bake Shop website, and had to give it a try.  (Originally submitted to Moda Bake Shop by Joline of Blue Elephant Stitches blog)

It reminds me of the granny square afghan my grandmother crocheted for me so many years ago–and the many granny squares I crocheted back in the day (I made everything from an afghan to matching vests for my nieces).

The directions were for a larger quilt (52 x 62″), so I re-configured the pattern yardage for my baby quilt size.

I bought an entire jelly roll of Moda’s “30’s Playtime” fabric (just ’cause I loved it so), and added some off white Moda solid I had on hand.

ASST32790 15YD 40 PCHaving the jelly roll strips already cut at 2-1/2 inches speeds up the process. Although I only needed to use 12 strips for my baby size quilt, having the entire jelly roll let me choose the colors I needed.  And I’ll have lots of leftovers to make more.

GrannyBlog1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note:  there’s a slight error in the Moda Bake Shop cutting directions, so if you decide to make this quilt be sure to check the comments at the end of the blog before you start.

GrannyBlog2Each strip is cut to specific sizes, and then they’re put together like this:

  • center (see bright yellow strip)
  • inner rings (see blue strips)
  • outer rings (see pale yellow strips)
  • background (white strips–cut 3″ instead of 2-1/2″ like the others)

These are sewn into three strata

 

 

 

And then subcut into 2-1/2″ strips (see below).

GrannyBlog3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These new sub-cut strips are sewn into this configuration.

GrannyBlog5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The final step is to cut them down to the block size, making sure you leave 1/4″ of background fabric at each tip.

GrannyBlog6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Three strips (plus 1 center) makes two blocks.  Be careful–the edges on the bias of the newly cut blocks can stretch easily.  I sprayed & pressed a bit of  “Best Press” (or a sizing) to help them keep their shape.

GrannyBlog7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My 30’s Granny Square Baby Quilt will end up being 3 blocks across and 4 blocks down (12 blocks total) with white sashing/inner border.

GrannyBlog8Originally I was going to just bind it in a 30’s solid green, but I think it needs an outer border…

Oh oh…Time to go shopping! (…any excuse will do, right?)

…to be continued…after a quick trip to one of my favorite shops,where I’m always inspired — Mill House Quilts!

Happy Quilting!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

 

 

2 thoughts on “The 30’s Granny Square Baby Quilt: Pt 1

Leave a Reply

