Autumn Leaves Art Quilt Series #2

I’m working on the second in the “Autumn Leaves” series for the McGregor-Marquette Center for the Arts.

It begins with one of my hand-dyed turquoise blue fabrics as a background.

This time I sandwiched the top and backing fabrics with low-loft Pellon batting, and a layer of craft interfacing (Pellon 809 Deco-Bond) before beginning.

Tree1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next I added more colors of shredded hand-dyed and batik fabrics to “paint with” and started sprinkling them on.  It takes a long time to adjust them just so.  I find a tweezers (or in this case a dental tool) works much better than fingers!

Tree2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a very messy process.  The little bits of shredded fabric get everywhere!  I find I have to clean out the sewing machine often…

Tree3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…and keep a lint roller handy!

Tree4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After layering tulle netting on top and free-hand quilting the layers together (catching the bits of fabric in between) with several colors of variegated thread, I add more branches, quilt again–  And finally bind the edges–using the backing technique I put in my earlier post.

Tree6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the depth the different colors give the piece.

Tree5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d like to do a piece specific to the McGregor – Marquette area…I’m searching for some of our hiking trips to Effigy Mounds National Park to see if there’s something inspiring.

Until next time…

HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

 

 

2 thoughts on “Autumn Leaves Art Quilt Series #2

  1. I’m trul enjoying the design and laayout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much mode pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Great work!

Leave a Reply

