Trillium Art Quilt Process

MMCA blog1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It certainly can get messy in my quilt studio when I’m working on a new art quilt!  I like to have options–so I bring out every possible hand-dyed, batik fabric that might work before I finalize the ones that make the cut…

Trillium say “spring” to me…I love to see them appear, as if by magic, on the forest floor — coming up out of the brown leaves and pine needles.

This piece is based on a photograph I took of one of the Trillium in bloom last spring.

I start with creating the base–trying to replicate the feel of a forest floor.  I put the center pieces on a “sandwich” of a low-loft batting, the Pellon Deco-Bond, and backing fabric–then added a folded green mini-border, and the batik outer border.  Now it’s ready for the Trillium…

MMCA blog2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Using the photograph for reference, I “fussy cut” each of the leaves, petals, and stems out of my stash of hand-dyed and batik fabrics backed with Steam-a-Seam Lite* and fuse them together as one before adding it to the background.

MMCA blog3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next comes the quilting, which really gives it life.  I like to use the Sulky variegated thread in different colors–from brown, to green, to golden yellow…

MMCA blog4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then the binding and “corner pieces” for hanging.

I’ve got 5 pieces made to take to Iowa — so my “mini-show” is ready for display at the McGregor-Marquette Center for the Arts…

MMCA blog5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*By the way–I’m almost out of my “Steam-a-Seam 2 Lite” and found out that the company (The Warm Company) has discontinued making the product until they find a solution to a problem.  Seems the company that supplied them with the backing sheet for the product shut down, and they were unhappy with the alternative paper they tried.  So they’re working on a solution to their problem, and the product is expected to be back on the shelves soon.

 

Happy Quilting!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

