Madison Quilt Expo–The Curvy Log Cabin Trim Tool

Don’t you just LOVE the vendor booths at the Madison Quilt Expo.  It’s one of my favorite parts of the quilt show…seeing all the latest and greatest gadgets and fabrics, with plenty of demos.  And there were so many vendors to choose from–395 vendors to be exact…wow!  No wonder my feet were tired.  🙂

One booth was demonstrating a ruler from Creative Grids that I just had to have.  It’s called the non-slip 8″ Curvy Log Cabin Trim Tool.

RLC1

The look of log cabin blocks has always intrigued me, but round log cabin blocks are especially interesting.  They showed a few table runners and quilt samples that were just amazing.  I’ve done round log cabins before, but this new tool was “calling my name”…HA!  Can’t have too many templates and rulers, eh?

So I found (in my stash) almost a complete jelly roll of beautiful blue and brown batiks and added some Kona black cotton fabric for the background to make it pop.

The round log cabin is based on cutting wide and narrow strips (which creates the round look, with no curved piecing).  The wide strips should be cut at least 2-1/4″ wide, so the 2-1/2″ strips in my jelly roll will work with just a bit of waste, and the narrow strips must be cut at least 1-1/2” wide, so that’s the measurement I used to cut the black yardage.

RLC2

Round 1 – trimming wide strip side

The center square is cut 1-3/4″ in the background color (black).  Next you add the two wide strips (batik), and then the two narrow strips (black).  There’s a square on the ruler called “Wide Round 1” which you put directly over the center square and trim off the excess batik fabric (see photo).

RLC3

Round 1 — trimming the narrow side

Then you simply turn the block and the ruler to place the square marked “Narrow Round 1” on top of the center square and trim the narrow black side (see photo).

RLC4

Round 2 — trimming the wide side

I’ve just finished round two!  So I’m trimming the batik side in the photo, lining up the ruler square marked “Wide Round 2” with the center square.  I’m going to work on trimming the narrow round 2, then adding round 3 wide & narrow and trimming up the blocks.  I hope to have them up on the design wall by tomorrow.

Using the “Trim Tool” is a little more time consuming than just cutting the strips and piecing them,  but the results are so much more exact.  I think it’s worth the few extra minutes.

I’ll get back to you with progress.

Here’s a YouTube Video from Creative Grids.

Hubbie is recovering from rotator cuff surgery this month–so I try to get a little bit of quilting in while he’s in the “Continuous Passive Motion Device”, which we’ve nicknamed “The Electric Torture Chair”  🙂

Until next time…HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

Leave a Reply

