Taking Some Time to Make Fall Cards

IMG_1698.JPG

Between taking care of my hubbie after his surgery, and cleaning the basement to make room for my new Long Arm Quilt Machine, I needed to take a break. And I find that making cards can be such a rewarding, quick thing to make.

IMG_1705.JPG

So…I got inspired by some Stampin Up “Trendy Trees” stamps I saw on Pinterest and I ordered the new stamp set (via Etsy) to make these cute little trees in fall colors…

IMG_1706.JPG

Aren’t they darling…and so versitile!

IMG_1707.JPG

I tried different papers and stamp colors–then added ribbon or bits of leftover papers…

IMG_1699.JPG

Then I used my square punch to cut some coordinating cardstock I had on hand–then cut them into triangles (one quick cut from corner to corner)

IMG_1700.JPG

…to make a few “quilt square” cards! Kind of combining my love of quilting with my love of making cards!

IMG_1701.JPG

Note that I later ordered the “Thing-a-Ma-Jig” so my trunks & leaves would “line up” perfectly (see how much better they look in the first photo above).

So in just a couple of days, I’ve got enough Birthday, Get Well, Thinking of You, and all occasion cards to last me quite awhile.

What do you think? Do you like to quilt AND make cards? I think both are similar–

Paper instead of cotton fabric
Paper cutter instead of rotary cutter
Glue/tape instead of thread and sewing machine

Until next time,
HAPPY QUILTING! (and card making!)

Jane
Mulberry Patch Quilts

Leave a Reply

