Amazing Kaleidoscope Quilts

Have you ever seen the AMAZING kaleidoscope quilts created by Paula Nadelstern?  If not, you’re in for a treat…take a look at these photos…

Kaleidoscopic XVII: Caribbean Blues by Paula Nadelstern

Kaleidoscopic XI: Snowfall by Paula Nadelstern

And see her quilts and interview on this YouTube video at the Akron Art Museum.  Just breathtaking!

http://youtu.be/yOBjVMaE2tk

And here’s Paula’s website, if you’d like to see more in her gallery:

http://www.paulanadelstern.com/

There’s something about a kaleidoscope that’s always fascinated me…the colors, the symmetry.  Remember those cardboard tubes with chips of colored stone or plastic in the end?  Well, there’s a world of sophisticated kaleidoscopes out there that take my breath away.  I love the surprise when you rotate and see a whole new view of spectacular colors radiating in perfect symmetry from the center. So this year, I’d love to make a few kaleidoscope-like quilts that reflected that beauty and wonder.

Although I’d love to take a class or workshop from Paula Nadelstern (please, please, please come to Wisconsin Paula!), she lives on the east coast and the only workshop/class I see on her schedule in 2015 for creating these lovely kaleidoscope quilts is one in Spain and a cruise to New Zealand/Australia.  (guess I won’t be taking those!)…

But I did find a wonderful article about her quilts and her process in my copy of American Quilter (Spring 1994, Vol X, No. !), “Kaleidoscopic in Design”.  She also has a book on the process–but sadly I think it’s out of print. Anyway, her technique may be a bit too advanced for this quilter, who’s just beginning to get her feet wet!  I also found an article by Bonnie McCaffery in the same issue of American Quilter “Creating a Kaleidoscope Quilt” that seems more do-able for a beginner. 

But then I found a wonderful YouTube demo by Ricky Tims online showing his version of techniques for creating a Kaleidoscope quilt:

http://youtu.be/HmZ2660K4r0

And knew I had to purchase his book right away and give it a trial run…just to see if I could do it.  His technique seemed right up my ally, at least as a “do-able” starting beginning.

http://www.rickytims.com/quiltgallery/kaleidoscope

Ricky gives great step-by-step instructions in his book with lots of illustrations.  At first I thought I could figure it out by just watching the quick video—but no, I really did need the book to keep me on track…it was worth every penny!

Quilt by Ricky Tims

Next time, I’ll show you a few photos of my first attempt at his technique!  (OK, don’t expect it to look like the photo above!!  Remember, I’m just a beginner!)

Until then…HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

Leave a Reply

