Sweet 16 Heart Table Topper for Challenge #4, Season 6 of Project Quilting

I’ve been thinking about the most recent “Have a Heart” Project Quilting Challenge  (challenge #4 of Season 6) and wondering if I could create some kind of an applique pattern that would have at least 12 hearts in it in less than a week!  Having a wind chill of minus 30 wind chill this week, it’s a great time to be in a nice warm quilt studio working!

So I grabbed some paper, started folding it and cutting it up.  It’s fun—like making those snowflakes when we were kids…!  I have to say that trying to create a quilted object in a week for the challenge gets your creative juices flowing.  After several tries, I finally came up with the heart shapes (see photo above), and started “playing” with them to get them to fit within a 10” square.  (I have lots of left-over layer cake 10” squares that I thought would be perfect for this challenge.)

I grabbed some of my favorite iron-on fusible—“Steam-a’-Seam II”, and traced the hearts onto it.  Then cut them out to arrange on one of my 10” squares.

BTW, are you as thrilled as I am that “Steam-a-Seam” is back?  It’s my favorite fusible because of it’s “stickiness”.  The Warm Company was having some production issues. While they were working on an alternative solution to the paper that they use, the machine that they used for testing and production broke down. But everything is fixed, and it’s finally available again online and at your favorite quilt stores.  Yeahhh!

After pressing the template fusible onto the back of the fabric, I’m ready to cut it out on the line.

After fusing all the medium rose & green hearts onto a light printed layer cake background, I decided to try a little handwork.  So I did a chain stitch around the smaller hearts with a Pearl Cotton thread.  It was more work than I bargained for…so after finishing up all the smaller green hearts by hand, I opted to do a machine blanket stitch around the larger hearts.

I found that the Aurifil Thread I won a few weeks ago will match the colors beautifully!  (Thanks again to all who voted for my Sunset quilt–and Kim and Aurifil!!!)

I’m using the “edge” walking foot on my Bernina to do some topstitching around the edges, and stitch in the ditch quilting.

Above you’ll see a close-up of the blanket stitch done in the green (on green) and deep rose (on rose).

HeartTblt3

And here’s the finished table topper.  It measures 13 x 13 inches after I added the border to the layer cake.  It’s backed with a coordinating fabric, so it’s reversible.

HeartTblt6

HeartTblt1

HeartTblt4

HeartTblt5

I think it might really look nice as an accent pillow.  Next time, maybe I’ll try making it as a pillow….  or I could enlarge the pattern for a larger table topper or wall hanging.  …Or it might make a cute baby quilt–I can see other blocks surrounding it, or putting 6 blocks together with sashing in-between.  M-m-m-mmm.  More ideas!

Quilting is never-ending, isn’t it? There’s always something new to try. Or one more project to do.

So what do you think?

The voting starts after noon on Sunday, February 22, so be sure to hop on over to Kim Lapacek’s “Permison Dreams Blog”, Project Quilting  to cast your vote for your favorites!

Until next time, HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

16 thoughts on “Sweet 16 Heart Table Topper for Challenge #4, Season 6 of Project Quilting

  1. You designed a table topper that is tops. Your hand work really shines and these colors are unexpected. I really am impressed with this from start to finish.

  2. This is so cute and sweet! I love making paper snowflakes and am SUPER excited that Steam-a-Seam2 is back. I was rationing what I had left while it was out of production and am juuuust about out of it. Your design is lovely and the quilt is too. I also love the combo of hand and machine embroidery… what was a decision caused by fatigue became an interesting design element. 🙂

Leave a Reply

