Finished Quilting My Second OBW (One Block Wonder)

I worked really hard yesterday on finishing my One Block Wonder top that I finished a couple weeks ago (see previous blog).

Having the rainy, humid Sunday afternoon helped get me get out of the garden and get the ambition to go down to do the quilting on my Tin Lizzy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And while I hand sewed the binding to the back of the quilt, I was able to catch up on a few episodes of  “Call the Midwives” before the big finale Sunday night. (I was finished in time to give the final episode of  “Selfridge” my full attention… LOL!)OBW6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the way it turned out.  I tried to echo the flowers in the pattern of the “Samba” fabric, by quilting free-hand swirls and flowers throughout.

OBW1

I think the deep blue border & binding help “reign” in the color explosion!

OBW2

…as well as the calm blue backing.  Do you agree?

OBW3

OBW4

I can’t wait to do this again.  One Block Wonder’s are so much fun to do.  I think it’s the surprise you get when you start cutting out the 60 degree triangles and sewing them together.  It’s amazing how fabrics off the bolt turn out in the final project.  On my travels to visit my sister in Michigan—I’m going to keep my eyes peeled for a fabric that will make another interesting One Block Wonder…

BTW, this OBW is for sale in my Mulberry Patch Quilts Etsy Shop

Until next time, HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

2 thoughts on “Finished Quilting My Second OBW (One Block Wonder)

Leave a Reply

