Making a Flat Label for Quilts and Quilted Items DIY

I needed a flat sew-in label with my shop name and logo for smaller items, like placemats, mug rugs, key fobs, etc.  So I think I figured out a way to do it myself using my PC, Microsoft Word, and an inkjet printer.

I opened up a new Word document and, since I knew I wanted very small labels, I went to page layout and created four columns (see “more columns”).

FlLabels1

Then it was just a matter of “inserting” a jpeg picture of my logo that I had on file (resizing it to fit)  and adding the wording in the style, size, and font I liked best.  Once I had one done, all I had to do was “cut & paste” it down the page until all the columns were filled up for one page.

FlLabels4

Next, get out the freezer paper, and the tightest weave white muslin you have on hand.

FlLabels2

Iron some freezer paper onto the muslin and cut it down with your rotary cutter and ruler so it’s exactly the size of a piece of paper (8-1/2 x 11”).

FlLabels

Iron it again—just to be sure all the corners and edges are secure.  I like to run my lint remover over it, just to be sure I didn’t pick up any stray threads.

FlLabels5

For my printer, I needed to put the prepared fabric upside-down so it would feed correctly.  And print on best quality setting.

FlLabels6

To be sure it’s secure on the item, I fused it to a sheet of Steam-A-Seam 2 (double fusible web).

FlLabels7

Hint:  After it’s cool, it’s easier to pull the backing sheet off now, rather than later.  But be sure to save the backing sheet!

FlLabels8

Then it’s just a matter of cutting the labels to the size you want.  I like to do them a column at a time, and only cut what I need.  I can put the sheet of labels that’s left back onto the saved backing sheet to store for the next time I need them.

FlLabels9

First I iron them onto the item (it helps secure them for stitching).

FlLabels01

And then I stitch them in place, using a matching thread.

FlLabels02

And here are the finished key fobs!

I’m not sure how much these labels will stand up to washing—but since many of my smaller items don’t need to be washed much (if at all), I’m not worried.  I may do a test in the future just for fun.

Until next time…HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

One thought on “Making a Flat Label for Quilts and Quilted Items DIY

Leave a Reply

