Project Quilting Challenge #2: Seasons

Wreath9c

So this week the Project Quilting Challenge is “Seasons”.  I immediately thought about a sweet little pattern I had purchased just a few weeks ago for a wreath made with pinwheels.

Wreath1

First I found all the fall like fabrics I could find in my stash.  I chose to “torture” myself by using the teeny tiny “Itty Bitty” Primitive Pinwheel Template that’s only 1-1/2″ square.

Wreath2

I cut a b’zillion little squares out of my fabrics and arranged them in a pattern.

Wreath3

Sewed them into columns,…and then sewed the columns together.  Looks like it would be done, doesn’t it?

But no…

Wreath4

I take a deep breath, and then cut out tiny squares with the template and my small rotary cutter…

Wreath5

This is what it looked like in progress.

Wreath6

And yes, all the pieces are teeny tiny.

Wreath7

With a lot of seams!!

Wreath8

Here I’m doing some quilting with my walking foot on my domestic sewing machine.

Wreath9

And it’s done, along with a striped binding.

Wreath9a

I finished it just in time to upload for the contest!  Just in time 🙂

Voting begins Sunday, January 24, 2016, after 12:00 noon CDT.  I hope you’ll come and vote for your favorites!

UPDATE:  The voting is done, and my wall hanging came in #7 out of the 54 quilts entered–no prize, but I’m very happy.  Thanks so much if you voted for me!

Until next time, HAPPY QUILTING

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

 

14 thoughts on “Project Quilting Challenge #2: Seasons

  1. Very nice! Twister quilts are so much fun. I can’t imagine doing one with such tiny pieces though. You get extra credit for that!!!

Leave a Reply

