Project Quilting Challenge 3

The third challenge for Project Quilting this winter is: “It’s All About That Thread”.  I don’t have much time.  I have company coming this week!  But I’m determined not miss a challenge this year.  So I opened my Electric Quilt 7 (EQ7) software on my computer and designed a paper piecing block.

Spool1

The software allows you to draw and create any block pattern you can imagine, and it will print it out as templates, applique pattern, or (in this case) a paper piecing pattern.  I tried to draw my spools of Aurifil thread–I think they look okay.

Spool2

I printed several patterns on one sheet of paper.  Then I went to my fabric stash.

 

Spool3

Spool4

Using the paper piecing pattern I created little blocks of Aurifil spools full of thread! Here’s one a green one, and a striped one (above).

Spool6

But what happens if I sew strips of selvages as the thread?  Interesting.

Spool7

I surrounded each block with strips of batik fabric and then cut them a bit “wonky” so they weren’t all in a straight line, adding a band of dark grey fabric to the top and bottom. A zippered bag for portable hand sewing projects is something I really need anyway, so I added the opposite back side, a bright green zipper, some lining and voila!

Spool9aSpool8

I added a d-ring in one seam so I can attach my mini-scissors.  Isn’t it cute?

Spool9

Spool9bSpool9c

I  hope enjoyed seeing the process.  And that you’ll take a moment to stop by the PROJECT QUILTING website and vote for your favorites.  It’s amazing to see all the creativity and what each quilter has come up with.  Just click on the title or photo to see more about each entry.  The voting doesn’t start until Sunday, Feb. 7, at noon through 8 pm Feb. 13, but I have to link this up today.  🙂  I’m so glad I finished it!  …now to get ready for company.

UPDATE:  The voting is done, & my little bag came in #10 put of 51 lovely entries.  Thanks for your vote!

Until next time, HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Project Quilting Challenge 3

Leave a Reply

