Project Quilting Challenge: Vacation

This week’s Project Quilting Challenge is “I NEED A VACATION”.  My favorite vacations are traveling to a beautiful spot, finding a cabin or home to rent, and relax by the lake, river, or ocean and just take in the beautiful view.  We might do some day trips in the area, like hiking or going out for lunch, but always coming back to the serenity and beauty of the surroundings of the spot we’ve rented.

I found a photograph I had taken this past summer when we ventured up to one of our favorite spots near Bayfield, Wisconsin.  A short walk from the back of our cottage is a rocky private beach with a spectacular view of Lake Superior, with Bass Island and the rest of the Apostle Islands, in the background…it was breathtaking!  I loved walking down to that spot with a cup of coffee every morning to take it all in.  So when I heard “I need a vacation” as the theme, this is where I’d want to be.

My first step in creating the scene was to find fabrics that had the same feel as the photograph (and my memory of it), and cut a piece of batting and backing to the size I wanted to serve as the backdrop “canvas”.

PQVaHow1

Then I cut and positioned the background and shoreline onto the batting.  I had just purchased something new—a Fons&Porter glue pen.  It worked great to keep everything in place.  I found it a lot less messy than the regular glue stick.

PQVaHow2

Bit by bit, auditioning fabrics–some that didn’t work, and others that did, I continued adding to the scene.

PQVaHow3

I thought the trees and bushes needed a bit more depth, so I got out my soft pastels and went to work, shading the foliage…

PQVaHow4

And adding some depth to the water and rocks…

PQVaHow5

I’m glad I purchased the set (on sale).  I used a blending stick to blend it in.

PQVaHow5a

The sailboat is small in the distance, so I decided to create it by thread painting…

PQVaHow6

After quilting, I wanted to add a border…so I auditioned several different fabrics and came down to three possibilities…

I didn’t care for the dark blue-grey, it seemed too dark and gloomy.

PQVaHow7

The blue batik was interesting, but the black piping was too harsh…

PQVaHow8

I felt the brown brought out the color of the rocks, so I went with that…

PQVaHow9

Here the borders have been added…along with more batting and backing.

PQVaHow9a

And here’s the finished art quilt…

PQVaca1

With a close up of the water…

PQVaca3

and the thread painted sailboat in the distance.

PQVaca4

PQVaca5

I hope you’ve enjoyed the journey, and that you’ll stop by Persimon Dreams website PROJECT QUILTING and vote for your favorite quilts!

ProjectQuVacation

 

The voting begins February 21 and runs through February 26 (2016).

UPDATE:  The voting has closed.  I came in #3 of 39 entries–no prize, but no bad!

Until next time, HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

12 thoughts on “Project Quilting Challenge: Vacation

  1. Just curious. I am going to try this. I am needing experience with appliqué. How many strips did you use with the lake and sky? It is lovely and while not duplicating it I am using the format for other colors, foliage, maybe a swan or something. You do great and beautiful work. Also This glue pen tip and the blending tips is something I have not done and am wanting to try.
    I hope you won.

    • Hi Jes, I was lucky and found batik & hand dyed fabrics that had a lot of variance and movement already in them, so I only needed a few (maybe 4 or 5 strips) to piece the background water & sky. The right fabrics really help set the moood & convey shadow & light…a stormy or clear blue sky… i know you’ll enjoy trying this…and that you’ll be successful. I’d love to hear how you do.

Leave a Reply

