Painting on Fabric Quilts

I treated myself to a box of Derwent Intense 24 Ink Pencils earlier this year, and an online class from IQuilt entitled “Artistic Painted Applique”.  The instructor, Linda Poole, showed us how to first create a pallet of color to familiarize ourselves with the variety of ink pencils in the pack.

After Ironing some freezer paper onto the back of a piece of white cotton, I drew some circles and filled each in with a different color of the Inktense Ink Pencils.

Paint

Adding textile medium brings the pencils to life…

paint3

They react like watercolor or paint on the fabric.

paint2

Next I backed a piece of stabilizer to the back of my fabric & sketched a bird I’d seen at our feeder earlier this year.

IMG_1694

Then it was just a matter of coloring and adding the textile medium to blend it all together.

BlogDay3

The color is beyond the sketch lines because I needed to that cut it out and fold over the edges to applique.

I usually start with an overall idea of what I want to do…many times from a photograph I’ve taken.  But this time I worked “backwards”—having to come up with a background scene to place my little bird on.  It took me awhile to figure out what that would be.  The bird seemed to want to perch itself on a branch of some sort.  I was lucky enough to find a beautiful batik in my stash that worked perfectly for a background.

BlogDay4

I drew in some lines where fabric “branches” would be fused, and cut various sizes of leaves out of a multicolor orange batik for the leaves.  Next came the free-hand overall quilting to accentuate the veins of the leaves and down each branch.  I decided on overall “pebble” quilting for the background around the bird and some branches/leaves.

BlogDay5

I also quilted other free-hand stitches, including outlining the bird (and his feet)…

quilting2

and a feather stitch on the top portion, and swirls/meandering on the bottom.

PaintBd6

After trimming, I added folded triangles to each corner to make it easy to mount on the wall with a simple thin wooden dowel and one nail or hook.

IMG_5773

And I “framed” it with a black binding.

IMG_5766

PaintBd2

The Red Breasted Grosbeak I saw earlier in the spring hasn’t come back, but this quilted art wall hanging will be a permanent reminder of his beauty!  Hope you enjoyed watching the process!

IMG_2610

Until next time,

HAPPY QUILTING!

Jane

Mulberry Patch Quilts

One thought on “Painting on Fabric Quilts

  1. Oh my goodness, your quilt is awesome! So totally beautiful. Thank you for sharing your technique steps and info about your online class. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Leave a Reply

